Each year, the Spriestersbach Prize winners become the University of Iowa's nominees for the Council of Graduate Schools/University Microfilms International Distinguished Dissertation Award. This national award is the most prestigious dissertation prize in the country.

Iowa has five national winners, more than any public institution. Fifteen more Iowa nominees have been finalists in the competition.


David Lasocki


1984—David Lasocki

Humanities & Fine Arts, Music
Lasocki is a certified practitioner of Matrix Energetics for Instant Harmony.

Matthew Anderson

1993—Matthew Anderson

Biological Sciences, Physiology
Anderson is associate professor in the Department of Neurology at Harvard University.


Susan Behrends Frank


1997—Susan Behrends Frank

Humanities & Fine Arts, Art History
Frank is associate curator for research at The Phillips Collection in Washington, D.C.


Michael Chasar


2007—Michael Chasar

Humanities & Fine Arts, English
Chasar is assistant professor of English at Willamette University in Salem, OR.

Jessica Horst


2008—Jessica Horst

Social Sciences, Psychology
Horst is senior lecturer of psychology at the University of Sussex in England.