The Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award recognizes exemplary mentoring of doctoral students by members of the UI graduate faculty.

For 2021-2022, eligible departments include:

  • Arts and Humanities
  • Biological and Life Sciences
  • Mathematical, Physical Sciences, and Engineering
  • Social Sciences

To be eligible, a mentor must have been a member of the UI graduate faculty for at least 5 years and have mentored at least 3 students who have completed doctoral degrees at Iowa.

Each eligible department may nominate one mentor; nominations must come from a faculty member in that department. This year, a full nomination letter is required that addresses these criteria.

Nominations should be submitted online. Nomination letters are due April 1, 2022, at 5 p.m.

Once nominated, a mentor will need to provide a statement of mentoring philosophy (following the award criteria), a CV, and a list of current/past doctoral students advised at the University of Iowa, organized by year of graduation.

Mentor nominees must also provide contact information for one current doctoral student and one doctoral student who is graduated, each of whom will submit recommendation letters. 

Each award recipient will receive $2,500 and will be recognized at a Graduate College reception in late spring. 

The Graduate College honored Leslie Schwalm and Carolyn Brown with the 2019-2020 Graduate College Outstanding Faculty Mentor Awards. Schwalm, a professor in the Department of History and Gender, Women's, and Sexuality Studies, is recognized in Humanities and Fine Arts. Brown, a professor in the Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders, is honored in the Biological and Life Sciences.

Please call or email with questions